TBR

Summer TBR – Quill Tricks

004.jpg

For this post I’ve picked a handful of books that I’m looking forward to reading over these next few months. I absolutely adore spending my summer days outside in the calm, quiet sun and reading a good book whilst listening to my new favourite album. Sadly, I don’t have a holiday booked for this year yet, though all hope is not lost, who knows what’s to come through the rest of the year?!

But I am moving house in just 3 weeks and I’ll be living next to a lovely canal in Leeds, so I’m looking forward to spending some time outdoors with these books to begin with.

Flawed.jpg

Flawed – Cecilia Ahern

The Blurb

“I cannot fathom how I can be here.
I can’t be Flawed.
I am perfect
.”

Celestine North lives a perfect life.

But then Celestine breaks a rule and faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. Branded. Found. FLAWED.

In this heartbreaking and uplifting novel, worldwide phenomenon Cecilia Ahern depicts a society in which perfection is paramount and mistakes and punished.

And where one young woman takes a stand that could cost her everything…

My Thoughts

This is Ahern’s debut young adult novel. I’ve known Ahern to be writing adult love stories for some time, though I’ve never actually picked one up as it’s not my typical read. To me, this sounds similar to Uglies by Scott Westerfield where perfection is key . I love a dystopia and I was very much drawn in by the blurb of this novel. Something that really drew my attention was the word ‘Branded’ and what this might possibly entail.

Instantly, it’s easy to realise that this is a comment on our modern day society and the celebrity culture we are surrounded by. Personally, I am quite defensive of this culture to an extent because I believe I live reasonably realistically within it whilst embracing and loving it. Don’t get me wrong, there are some things out there that are terribly unrealistic but are easily portrayed as real life attainable goals. I can see how people are influenced by these images and personalities and how it can have a negative effect. I’m interested to see my own personal reaction to the representations because of my love of the culture.

 

 

Dolores

Dolores Claiborne – Stephen King

The Blurb

Dolores Claiborne has a story to tell. But not quite what the police had expected. Dolores Claiborne has a confession to make.

She will take her time. Won’t be hurried. Will do it her way, spring neither details nor feelings. Hers or anyone else’s.

This is the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. Truth that takes you to the edges of darkness.

Dolores Claiborne has a story to tell and you’d better pay attention – or else.

My thoughts

It’s well known that Stephen King writes and publishes books like they’re about to go out of fashion, and whilst not every novel or novella is particularly good because of this, there are a few shining stars in there.

This is a book I initially got as a potential for my Masters dissertation and ended up not using. It did however come highly recommended to me by both friends and tutors alike and perhaps falls into that small pool of particularly notable work that King has produced.

I’m seriously into crime stories at the moment, real and fictional. I watched the whole of Making a Murderer a couple of weeks ago (so behind, I know) and I had so many thoughts and feelings on it. My current Netflix list is full of true crime documentaries and I’m even listening to some true crime podcasts, so the premise of this book is definitely relevant to my current interests. I think I’ll read this sooner rather than later so that I don’t lose that before going into it.

 

Shattered

Shattered – Teri Terry

The Blurb

When you don’t know who you are, how can you decide who you want to be?

Kyla was slated: her ind wiped clean by the oppressive Lorder government. When forbidden memories of a violent past began to surface so did doubts: could she trust those she had come t care for, like Ben? Helped by friend in MIA, she goes undercover, searching for her past and evading the authorities who want her dead. Byt the truth Kyla desperately seeks is more shocking than she ever imagined.

My Thoughts

So, I may have just realised that this is a final instalment and I’ve only read the first instalment… oops?

So looks like I’m actually planning a series read with this one. Luckily I remember loving the first instalment. The idea of governmental influence on ones memories is unique and not a plotline I’ve come across before.

It’s been a long time since I read the first instalment, but I do recall interesting characters and a beautiful writing style. I also remember not shutting up about the novel for a while, so I’m looking forward to jumping back in. The first book is called Slated and slowly introduces these themes of government involvement. A true Young Adult novel, Slated has teenage characters looking to enact change and rebel against societal constructs. Strong willed characters are important to me in novels and also the reason I am so drawn to this genre of writing. I’m always looking to expanding my portfolio

How I didn’t realise this was the last instalment I really don’t know….

 

Release

Release – Patrick Ness

The Blurb

It’s Saturday, it’s summer and, although he doesn’t know it yet, everything in Adam Thorn’s life is going to fall apart. Relationships will change, he’ll change, but maybe, just maybe, he’ll find freedom in the release.

Time is running out though, because way across town a ghost has risen from the lake. Searching, yearning, she leaves a trail of destruction in her wake…

My Thoughts

I’ve made my love for Patrick Ness’ writing no secret in this blog, I simply adore him, and I was so excited to pick up a precious signed edition of this novel.

This is the first time I’ve read the blurb also, I bought it purely because of how much I love his past work. Yet again, Ness has me interested already. To me, this sounds a similar setting to The Rest of Us Just Live Here in that it appears to be a novel about maturity. I think no matter what your age these novels are heart-warming and I’m very excited to get stuck into this one.

The hint of a haunting is particularly interesting in this Ness novel. I personally don’t think you see ghostly figures in much fiction these days, it seems to be more a theme of the Victorian narrative, so bringing the spectral into the modern day narrative will hopefully be a delightful new take within the genre. I’m positive I won’t be disappointed by Ness and I can’t wait to write a review on this.

 

Are you planning on reading any of these? Is there anything you think I should pick up during the summer? Let me know!

303B2ED8A6DDE483716F780AC016123C.png


Links

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

Leave a Reply

